Felix, Larson honored as Sportswomen of Year


NEW YORK — Olympians Allyson Felix and Jordan Larson were honored as Sportswomen of the Year by the Women’s Sports Foundation.

Felix won two medals at the Tokyo Games — giving her 11 in her career — to surpass Carl Lewis as the most decorated American in Olympic track and field history. Larson led the U.S. women’s volleyball team to victory against Brazil for its first Olympic gold medal.

Naomi Osaka earned the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award for bringing awareness to social justice and mental health issues.

“I got the courage just to speak out growing up and seeing all of the people around me doing amazing things,” Osaka said at the Annual Salute to Women in Sports on Wednesday night, “and not having any fear and standing up for what they believe in.”

Kim Ng of the Miami Marlins, the first female general manager in baseball, received the Billie Jean King Leadership Award. Larry Scott, the former commissioner of the Pac 12 and former CEO of the WTA Tour, accepted the Champion for Equality Award.

A reception at the New-York Historical Society ahead of the virtual awards show featured King as well as former baseball manager Joe Torre, Olympic hockey star Meghan Duggan, two-time World Cup champion Julie Foudy, Stanford women’s basketball coach Tara VanDerveer and Women’s Sports Foundation President Phaidra Knight.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Nkrumah Bonner: West Indies need ‘smart tactics’ to beat Sri Lanka’s spinners
How did George Kambosos Jr. beat Teofimo Lopez, and where do they go from here?
Alastair Cook commits until 2023 season after Essex contract extension
Sources: Man Utd set to appoint Rangnick
Australia named ‘preferred candidate’ for RWC 2027

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *