Edmonton’s Draisaitl takes Hart Trophy as MVP


Edmonton Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl won the NHL’s Hart Trophy Monday night, given to the league’s most valuable player.

Draisaitl also won the Ted Lindsay Award for most outstanding player, as voted on by the players, during the league’s awards show leading up to Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final in Edmonton, Alberta.

Draisaitl, awarded the Hart in a virtual presentation given by Hall of Famer and former Oilers center Wayne Gretzky, had 43 goals and 110 points for Edmonton this season, including 16 power-play goals in 71 games.

Draisaitl won the award ahead of finalists Artemi Panarin of the New York Rangers, and Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche.

Edmonton advanced to the NHL qualifying round, where it was eliminated by the Chicago Blackhawks. Playoff performances do not count for these awards, but Draisaitl had three goals and six points in that series vs. the Blackhawks.

Nashville’s Roman Josi won the Norris Trophy for the league’s top defenseman, after leading the Predators to the qualifying round. And MacKinnon’s teammate in Colorado, defenseman Cale Makar, a first-round pick out of UMass, won the Calder Trophy for the league’s top rookie.

Makar, 21, led all first-year defensemen in goals (12) and ranked second in assists (38) and points (50) to help lead Colorado to the second-best record in the West.

The Oilers have had connections to three of the last four Hart Trophy winners. Draisaitl’s teammate, Connor McDavid, won the award in 2017, and former Oiler, Taylor Hall, won the Hart while with the New Jersey Devils in 2018.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Purdue’s Brohm to miss opener after positive test
Valtteri Bottas tops Portuguese GP first practice
Why Dortmund vs. Schalke is the Bundesliga’s biggest derby
2020 NBA free agency and trades: Latest buzz, news and reports
Kokrak takes CJ Cup; 1st tour win in 233 starts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *